Personal tools
You are here: Home WHAT's NEW!


2016 Heidelberg Laureate Forum
Applications and nominations for the 4th Heidelberg Laureate Forum must be completed by February 3, 2016.
Christopher Ré named a MacArthur fellow
Congratulations! Christopher was awarded a "genius grant" from the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. He was recognized for his work in developing a data-inference system that analyzes data with a high degree of certainty.
Lei Chen, M. Tamer Özsu, Vincent Oria win the 2015 SIGMOD Test of Time award
For their Paper Entitled "Robust and Fast Similarity Search for Moving Object Trajectories".
Dr. Laura Haas is the recipient of the 2015 SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovation Award
For pioneering innovations in the integration of multiple, heterogeneous data sources.
Michael Stonebraker and Lawrence Rowe receive the inagural (2015) SIGMOD Systems Award
Dr. Michael Stonebraker and Dr. Lawrence A. Rowe are the recipients of the 2015 SIGMOD Systems Award for fundamental contributions to the design and implementation of modern, object-relational database systems as embodied by the Postgres DBMS.
Call for Nominations Editor-In-Chief ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (to become ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security)
The ACM Publications Board solicits nominations for Editor-in-Chief for ACM Transactions on Privacy and Security (TOPS). TOPS continues the ACM Transactions on Information and System Security (TISSEC) series, but with an expanded scope (see below) and new name. EiC candidates will be asked to provide a plan for how to carry out this transformation.
Call for Nominations: Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of the ACM
The term of Victor Vianu, the current Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the ACM (JACM), is coming to an end. A search committee has been formed to identify candidates for the next Editor-in-Chief and to recommend the most suitable one to the ACM Publications Board.
The SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award and SIGMOD Systems Award now have a $10000 (USD) honorarium.
Microsoft is the sponsor of the new SIGMOD Systems Award. With support from Microsoft, SIGMOD was able to raise the award levels significantly for these two prestigious awards.
Jennifer Widom named the ACM-W 2015-6 Athena Lecturer
The ACM-W Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science.
Michael Stonebraker wins the ACM Turing Award
MIT's Stonebraker Brought Relational Database Systems from Concept to Commercial Success, Set the Research Agenda for the Multibillion-Dollar Database Field for Decades.
Document Actions